Loss of odo – reason

This morning when lubing the chain I noticed a possible reason for the loss odometer and trip computer.

The cable running to the rear wheel sensor had been crushed. There was a corresponding dent in the swing arm. This weird because its on top of the swing arm – how could that get such a hard knock, especially with the luggage fitted?

Anyway I made a quick and dirty repair, expecting that I’d be back in business with odo and trip computer. No luck. Still dead.

When the problem first arose, I assumed it would be the front speed sensor and I wiggled the cable. Remarkably, it did work for about another 20 km.

So maybe I have a failure in both speed sensors?

Leave a Reply

